Tattoos I Would Like to Get

It’s true what they say: tattoos are addictive.

Ever since I got a tattoo, I’ve been obsessed with them.  I’ve binge-watched every tattoo show I could scrounge up on YouTube and even started drawing my own.  I love the artwork and individual expression.  I even briefly fantasized about a career as a tattoo artist before realizing that I would probably eventually get very sick of drawing skulls, praying hands and basic hearts.

Because if my acting, I want to maintain as much versatility as possible in my body’s appearance.  This is the reason I have a very boring, plain-Jane haircut at all times.  If I had my real druthers, I would have a La Roux ‘do.

I never know which parts of my body may be required to be shown on stage or on camera as every project is very different.  I want to be able to perform in any genre, any time-period.  When I got my first tattoo, I told myself to get it in a spot that would be unlikely to be seen and easily covered up – for me, this was my armpit/shoulder, right in the place that is usually covered by my bra band and strap.  Now that I want more tattoos, I am realizing that I only have very limited space like this.  I’ve joked about getting tattoos all the way around the inside edges of my bra band.  I’m sure this would look very strange.  Still, I’m constantly coming up with new ideas for tattoos I’d like to get.

Here are my recurring ideas so far:

  • a sailfish
  • a thistle
  • Queen Anne’s lace
  • tarot cards
  • leaves with some sort of flower arrangement
  • birds all up my side:
    • a blue jay
    • a red-winged blackbird
    • a cardinal
    • a crow
    • a magpie with pearls
  • a jellyfish
  • an octopus
  • Queen of Clubs riding a sea dragon
  • an ocean/waves
  • a white-ink reminder of temporariness (the artsy-fartsier, the better)
  • Mr. T’s face

Queen Anne's Lace

P.S.  A tattoo artist I’ve been loving lately: https://instagram.com/freeorgy/

Leave a comment