Day 49 – Grapefruit Headache?

Meat for the Mind? – Experimenting with the Carnivore Diet for Mental Health

Wednesday, October 9th, 2019

*** If you would like to read about my rationale for starting this diet, my first post about this is available here.

  • Sleep: About 8 hours. Was still exhausted and was sad when I woke up and didn’t want to get out of bed. I think I may be getting sick as I woke up congested as well.
  • Food consumed:  10:45 AM: Coffee with butter, collagen and theanine.

    4:00 PM: 3/4 lb of ground beef.

    5:00 PM: A half bar of Russian bitter chocolate (80%). Marvelous.
    – A couple of spoonfuls of salmon roe

    9:30 PM: A pink grapefruit. It was wonderful but I got a headache soon afterwards.
    – Two pieces of Ezekiel toast with cultured butter.

    11:30 PM: 4 hard-boiled eggs with butter and salt and pepper. A bit of smoked pink salmon.
Ground beef lunch
  • Mood:  Woke up feeling quite depressed for no reason. I wonder if the Ezekiel bread had anything to do with it. Struggled a bit throughout the day, feeling tired and sad off and on, with little bouts of anxiety. Had some good moments though too, like band practice.
  • Energy levels / physical feelings: My face was puffier than usual when I woke up. A little bit of a bloated abdomen. I realized I may have PMS again, despite the last one ending only recently, due to hormonal issues with my birth control.
  • Poop?: 1 large turd at 11:00 AM.

Leave a comment